Marais Masay

Marais Masay

Fishermen at Marais Masay

Fishermen at Marais Masay

The Marais Masay is a former swamp which has been transformed to collect the discharge of dirty water from the surrounding areas and companies. It is so obvious that fishing at this marsh is forbidden. Poverty makes people breaking the law. As you can see on the pic, people are still fishing there. I heard that they take those fishes and put them in a clean pool for a week and then sell them in some markets far from Marais Masay.

Now, there is a project, sponsored by Ile de France, to clean the water of Marais Masay. Since it is hard to follow and to punish the fishermen, cleaning the marsh can be a good solution. And frankly speaking, I love this project. I am not good at technical details, and since there was noone there to answer my questions, I only took pics so enjoy them😀

The name of this project is Vetiver Float – “Flotteur de  Vétiver”. Vetiver is the name of the grass. This float is used to hold garbage and to purify the water so eating fishes from Marais Masay will be safer in a near future.

DSC04024

DSC04109

I am so sorry, contacted by the genius guy who is the source of this project, I have been asked  to take off some photos. Thanks for your understanding.