too beautiful to disappear

too beautiful to disappear

One Saturday, during ICE meeting, we discussed « environment ». Environment is everything surrounding us. Volana said: “Environment is divided into two parts: the natural one and the artificial one”.

 

Then, we came out with all the problems. Let us start with what happen in the countryside. Almost all the farmers still keep the traditional method of rice plantation. For that, they still practice “tavy”. They cut the forest and burn the ground, then plant the rice on the burned soil. The wood will be transformed into  charcoal.  

I have noticed a thing: people from downtown only “throw rocks” to peasants. But what do they really do for the good of the environment? How many of our homes use charcoal? Then, every where on the streets, what do we have? Answer:  trashes. And? And exhaust fumes. And? And polluted smokes from industries… 

So, what are the right solutions? The law decided to imprison for life everyone  who will be caught burning forest. Is it enforced? I do not think so.  At the club, we all said: cars with exhaust fumes should not be allowed here in Madagascar, people practicing “tavy” should be imprisoned, farmers should be more sensitized to use modern method.   

But here is the most interesting: we all had been asked if we “personally” care about the environment and what we do to protect it. I am going to speak for myself. I would say YES but what did I really do until now? Can we take into account the fact that I do not throw my trashes anywhere? 

wanna survive

wanna survive

Let me be serious now, I was one of those who really cared about environment, climate changes, protecting endemic plants and animals, planting trees… but what happened to me? TIRED. Yes, I feel tired of fighting “alone”. None of my family nor my friends are really  convinced to protect the environment. No no no, it is too late to  “protect”, now it should be time to safeguard the remains. I always thought  that once I started, I would be an example and then, wise people would follow me; but in fact, none did.  

ariniaina